Student Posts

To believe or not to believe…that is the question.

By: Brittany Melo @MeloBrittany I think we can all agree that we have experienced some sort of rumor mill that started as a miscommunication and snowballed into something far from the truth. This same kind of mentality can be attributed to some of the posts found on social media sources. Basically what I am trying to say is that not everything we…read more
Student Posts

Not an #Ad

By: Julia Hofmann @juliahofmann9 So, throughout class a buzzword that has been dropped more than a couple times is, “influencer.” Now, some of you might be wondering what’s an influencer; well an influencer is someone on social media with a large following, or simply someone on social media who has influence over their audience. Some examples would be, the Kardashians,…read more
Twitter Summary

Alexa Hears Everything: SEO Companies do too.

By Kate Miller @kmiller, and Ethan Ferdig @ethan_ferdig These days it seems like everything is digital. President and founder of Anvil, Kent Lewis (@kentjlewis), shared some insight regarding Search Engine Optimization (SEO). SEO is the driving force behind the ads users see on Google, Facebook, or any other site on the internet. Companies are also able to use keywords that…read more
Student Posts

#TwitterIsOverParty

By: Olivia Determan @oliviadeterman I don't know if you noticed, but Twitter hasn’t been doing so hot this past couple of years. Your first clue was when Twitter decided to close Vine. Lots of users were confused and upset that their favorite 6-second pastime was shutting down, and a lot didn't understand why. The reason? It wasn’t making any money. Other…read more
Student Posts

Voice Search is Comin’ in Hot

by Lissa Steffen (Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram)   Confession: I didn't know who was playing in Super Bowl 2017 until the day of, and I had to ask Siri. That's the new norm, too. Since it's introduction in 2014, voice search is the next up and coming method of searching. With technology such as Alexa (Amazon), Cortana (Microsoft), in addition to Siri (Apple) and…read more
Student Posts

Hey Google, what’s SEO?

Evan Tanaka Twitter: @evan_saysit Linkedin: www.linkedin.com/in/evantanaka/ In today's world the internet is growing faster than ever. Let's take a look back to 2012, which seems like lightyears ago, according to quora.com, in 2012 alone over 51 million websites were created! That means about a 140,000 new websites each day. But let us fast forward to today and there are over…read more
Student Posts

Uber and the Breach of Personal Data

By: Desiree Dahlson @desireedahlson Big Brother is always watching. But this time, Big Brother isn’t the government. Big Brother is social media and the internet. When anything is put on the internet, it is nearly impossible to fully erase it, according to the Washington Post. While many know this, 91% of adults believe the way personal information is collected online…read more
Student Posts

Final Projects, Week 7, and Mondays, Oh My!

By: Sarah Borchardt (@sarahborchardt7), Brittany Melo (@MeloBrittany), and Cyrus Heffernan (@czheff) Class on Monday, February 20th was full of discussion of our final projects, best practices for our client's social media, and lots and lots of GIFs. Class was short but spirits were high as we discussed the possibilities of all we can accomplish with our clients on their finals…read more
Student Posts

Becoming CEO of SEO

by Katie Birrenkott - Twitter LinkedIn Portfolio Search engine optimization (SEO) has become the epitome of what comes to mind when thinking about social media marketing. As the common social media user knows, it's all about the hashtags. We've all seen the Instagram posts with a thick layer of hashtags, including the ever popular #throwbackthursday aka #tbt. Aside from the fact that my awesome photo…read more